TRANSFERFIELDS - Really, really odd behaviour

NickANickA Member Posts: 32
Hi All,

So, I get a support call from a customer that's been running fine for ages, suddenly they start getting an error in TRANSFERFIELDS (Sales Line->Sales Shipment Line) because two fields have the same ID but different names and data types. Now, I've been a NAV developer for some time and I know what this means:-
The two fields below must have the same type:
Field: Load No. <-- Process Line
Table: Sales Shipment Line <-- Sales Line
Type: Integer <-- Boolean

Of course #-o why would anyone expect that to work, some idiot has created two completely different fields in these tables that as a general rule should ALWAYS be kept identical when it comes to the field definitions!

We've corrected the main problem by creating new field definitions and basically putting the tables back in line with each other, but what I don't understand is, no-one has modified the objects involved for 12 months, I've even gone to an old backup and compared objects, nothing has changed. Last week it worked, this week it doesn't. The fact that it should never have worked in the first place is kind of a moot point, because it has worked for at least 12 months like that.

Was there ever a time that transferfields was more forgiving under older versions of the client? Maybe it was ok in the past about mapping TRUE/FALSE to 0/-1 on integers once upon a time? Maybe it was ok until someone recompiled the Sales-Post codeunit at which point it decided not to play any more?

I'm really confused anyway, if anyone can shed any light on this I'd be very grateful.

tia

Comments

• David_SingletonDavid_Singleton Member Posts: 5,479
    Pretty simple.

Go to a posted document and see what it has been putting in those fields. you should be able to restore a back up from a few days earlier which will show what the values were in the sales order before posting.
    David Singleton
  • NickANickA Member Posts: 32