ADO method Questions

jversusjjversusj Member Posts: 489
hello
i have never worked with ADO before and have very little experience with SQL statements. i read through 7 pages of ADO forum search results along with numerous general concept webpages to familiarize myself a bit with the syntax and approach. i have been attempting to piece together some code that will accomplish my assignment. It is a very basic look-up and should not be complicated, so i want to try to do it myself without calling in our consultant. here is what i'm trying to do...

1. NAV should select all records from a Company table in an external SQL table.
2. NAV should check this recordset for existence of Customer No. in Company table (primary key, company no. = customer no.). I cannot get the Find method to work using ADORecSet.Find - it will not compile. ...so i comment this out for now and just try the next step..
3. IF NAV doesn't see a record, it should create one. i am trying ADORecSet.AddNew.
here is what i try to do:
      //ADORecSet.AddNew([VARIANT FieldList][, VARIANT Values])
      aFieldList[1] := 'Company';
      aFieldList[2] := 'Name';
      aFieldList[3] := 'Active';
      aFieldList[4] := 'Availability_Checking';
      aFieldList[5] := 'User_Stamp';
      aFieldList[6] := 'Date_Time_Stamp';

aFieldValues[1] := 'LUC4422300';
      aFieldValues[2] := 'Test Customer Name';
      aFieldValues[3] := 'Y';
      aFieldValues[4] := 'Y';
      aFieldValues[5] := USERID;
      aFieldValues[6] := CURRENTDATETIME;

ADORecSet.AddNew(aFieldList,aFieldValues);
i built the array to hold some temporarily hard-coded values (i just want to see if i can insert a record), using a code example from W3 schools tutorial on ADO methods. both arrays have the same datatype of VARIANT and both have 6 dimensions, but i get the following error when i attempt to compile my codeunit: "The array dimensions must be identical."