Upgrading 400 to NAV 2009

AmaraaAmaraa Member Posts: 153
Hello,

I am new in Navision. However, I got a task to convert from nav 4.0 to nav 2009.
I am using Uprade Toolkit in other to upgrade the 4.0 db to 2009. Still in second phase when I import the second file and try to run from 104001 it says that datatable 5823 not found. So, nothing is going further than that.

How can I fix the problem?

Any ideas appreciated.
Amaraa

Comments

• krikikriki Member, Moderator Posts: 9,110
    Did you start from a standard NAV2009 DB and then imported the upgraded objects in it?
    Probably you just created a new NAV2009 DB without objects and imported the upgraded objects in it and probably not all objects were upgraded.

[Topic moved from 'NAV 2009' forum to 'NAV/Navision' forum]
    Regards,Alain Krikilion
    No PM,please use the forum. || May the <SOLVED>-attribute be in your title!

• infonoteinfonote Member Posts: 233
    You have a tough job to upgrade system if you are new to Navision.

I recommend you upgrade from NAV 4 to NAV 5 and then to Nav 6/2009.
    Also keep in mind any customizations.

Use developer's toolkit to compare the 2009 with version 4.
    During the upgrade process, customisations will be lost so you will need to merge the data.
  • AmaraaAmaraa Member Posts: 153
    kriki wrote:
    Did you start from a standard NAV2009 DB and then imported the upgraded objects in it?
    Probably you just created a new NAV2009 DB without objects and imported the upgraded objects in it and probably not all objects were upgraded.

Hi

in upgrade toolkit quick guide it said that i can use existing db for upgrading. so i did so.
    is it bad way of doing things? I need more instructions on it, please.
  • AmaraaAmaraa Member Posts: 153
    infonote wrote:

can you tell me where can I find upgrading guidelines from nav4.0 to nav5.0?
  • ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,256
    Amaraa wrote:
    infonote wrote: