Report Layout Question

ixyatlixyatl Member Posts: 4
I have a question about how to handle a peculiar report layout. I am a novice to NAV and I have been asked to create a report that has two different styles of pages with the second page repeating as necessary. There are three tables associated with the report and they are Header, DetailA and DetailB. The basic layout of the pages are as follows:

Page 1
Header data
first two rows of DetailA data
more data from Header
first four rows of DetailB data
more data from Header
more data from first two rows of DetailA
more data from Header
more data from first four rows of DetailB

Pages 2 - n
more data from Header
next two rows from DetailA data
more data from Header
next ten rows from DetailB data
more data from Header
more data from next two rows of DetailA data
more data from Header
more data from next ten rows of DetailB data

In a nutshell, Header data is sprinkled all over the two different kinds of pages. The first page can contain up to two rows from DetailA and four rows of DetailB. If, and only if, there are more than two rows of data from DetailA or more than four rows of data from DetailB, then we need to add pages 2-n as required.

I've found that I can use the MaxIteration property of the sections to limit the number of times the data is looped through. If I use the PreDataItem event I'm pretty sure that I can set the cursor position to the correct record so that each subsequent call to the other pages pick up where the previous pages left off -- unless it doesn't work that way, I haven't gotten that far. I can use CurrReport.QUIT to stop the report after whatever page I need if I've run out of DetailA and DetailB records, so that's not a problem. I can even use variables to print the correct page numbers on pages 2-n if CurrReport doesn't compute them properly. I'm also of the understanding that I can use CurrPage.NEWPAGE to create new pages whenever I need to, so that shouldn't be an issue.