How to LOCK and MANTAIN the lock on a record in a FORM

Marcelo_BMarcelo_B Member Posts: 12
Hello to all... there has been a long time since I ask for your help.... and here I am one more time.
After 2 years of working with NAV I am still learning new stuff... INCREDIBLE!

Well I am wondering.. :-k ... Is it posible to LOCK and MANTAIN the TABLELOCK on a record (or recordset) from the time a FORM is OPEN.... until it is CLOSE?

I trayed to do the following:
[b]Form - OnOpenForm()[/b]
RESET;
LOCKTABLE;

SETRANGE("Document Type", "Document Type"::Order);
SETRANGE("No.", 'SO123312');
FINDSET(TRUE,TRUE);

But when changing the record with other session, nothing happens.

On the other hand if I do this:
[b]Form - OnOpenForm()[/b]
RESET;
LOCKTABLE;

SETRANGE("Document Type", "Document Type"::Order);
SETRANGE("No.", 'SO123312');
FINDSET(TRUE,TRUE);
REPEAT
UNTIL NEXT <> 0;

The record is LOCK and the tablelock is MAINTAIN.

If you can give me any hints I´ll be more than gratefull....

Cheers,

MarceloB
.:. Marcelo .:.

Answers

• gerdhuebnergerdhuebner Member Posts: 155
    The problem is, that NAV sometimes performs automatic COMMITs. For example after the OnValidate-Tabletrigger an automatic COMMIT is done, which is only relevant of course, if there were some write transactions (or LOCKTABLEs) within the trigger. (By the way, this is the reason for some mysterious Rec.MODIFYs in the OnValidate-Tabletriggers of the standard application). And - as you have tried - there seems to be a similar automatic COMMIT after the OnOpenForm-Trigger has been run through.
    Presumably there are many other triggers after which an automatic COMMIT is performed, like for example the OnAfterGetCurrRecord - trigger or the OnValidate-Trigger of a form's textbox. So you may have no chance to establish a permanent LOCKTABLE while the form is open and the user navigates through it or even does some input...
  • bbrownbbrown Member Posts: 3,268
    Marcelo_B wrote: