Navision ODBC connection to fdb file

axelrod_ericaxelrod_eric Member Posts: 11
I am a Business Intelligence consultant working on a Data Migration for an SAP implementation. Navision (v3.7) is one of the many legacy systems, and we don't have a SME on the IT side. The datastore for this Navision installation is the fdb database file.

I obtained the installer for the entire Navision 3.7 application suite, including the ODBC connector, and successfully made a connection to the DB via ODBC.

However, I discovered a major problem. Many of the Navision column names are not compliant with the ODBC standard. Not only do many column names contain spaces and special characters, many are also more than 30 characters long. As a result, the ODBC driver throws an error on every table which contains an "illegal" column name.

I don't know how much, if any, custom development was done in the Navision implementation, but it seems strange that nearly every table has at least one illegal column name.

Is this a common problem with extracting Navision data via the supplied ODBC driver? Does a solution exist?

Thanks for your help,

Eric Axelrod
Consultant, Business Intelligence

Comments

• ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,256
    Is this a data migration tasks?
    If yes, I suggest to make a nav backup. Tools->backup.

Open finsql.exe. Create a new database on a SQL server (Files->database->New)

Restore the .fbk file Tools->restore.

Do all the odbc connection you need directly from sql.
    As far as ODBC Standard. you can have fields with spaces in it you just need to put it within [ ]
    And fields in Nav cannot be longer than 30 characters.
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer

blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n
    NAV ODBC actually shows you the Caption (language specific caption), not Field names.

So if the translation is not correct, then you could get fields that are longer than 30 characters.