PLEASE HELP!!!!! Connecting Nav to Microsoft Access database

coommarkcoommark Member Posts: 17
I am trying to connect to an Access database from NAV to insert new records into the access database whenever a new record is added to a particular table. I am trying to use Microsoft Access 12.0 Object Library to do this.

I cant just figure it out. Please if anyone has ever done it, pls help me. I have tried using Jet driver as the automation server, but it cant just insert the records.

Please also (do not be angry at a newbe), should i use a codeunit or a report to do this?

Please help me, as this is very :bug: ing me!

Thank you all in advance. Waiting eagerly for your help.

Melton

Comments

• themavethemave Member Posts: 1,058
    Not being a programmer, I can't help from the Navision side of things, but I needed the same thing, so I did it all in Access. once the odbc connection is setup, I created an append query, the looked at the Navision data, and simple ran the query on a timer in access. So Access does everything, mine just pulls data every 15 minutes, If I ever need it immediately I just run the query manually, it seems to work fine.
  • coommarkcoommark Member Posts: 17
    Hi Themave, thanks for the quick reply. Hmmm that will be a nice one too, until i can get a solution from insode NAV. Please how did you do that? Do you mind sharing some step by step tutorial with me? I havent looked at VBA since the dawn of age (1999). Please help me if you can. I need this help like yesterday.

Thanks once again for the help.

Melton
  • ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,256
    Hello coommark
    Please look at ADO. You can look at waldo post in how to use ado to connect to access database and insert data from nav.
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer

blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n
  • ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,256
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer

blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n