If you upgrade to NAV 2009 Executables only (no code)

jwilderjwilder Member Posts: 263
We are in the process of upgrading to NAV 2009 Executables only (so we can take advantage of External Connector without actually going through a big code upgrade). Our current code base is 5.0 and our current executables are 5.0 SPI.

In our testing we realized that form 408 "G/L Balance by Dimension" no longer displays any records. The problem lies in the DimCodeToOption function. It turns out that Case statements involving Code variables to Text variables has changed a little. The following example in 5.0 exits with 1.

CodeVariable := 'G/L ACCOUNT';
CASE CodeVariable OF
'G/L Account' : EXIT(1);
END;

The same example exits with 0 in NAV 2009 which is why the form no longer works. The solution to this is to either change the CodeVariable to a text variable (which is what was done if we had upgrade code as well as Executables) or wrap an Uppercase statement around the Case items liek this:

CodeVariable := 'G/L ACCOUNT';
CASE CodeVariable OF
Uppercase('G/L Account') : EXIT(1);
END;

My conclusion is that case statements involving Code to Text used to be case insensitive but starting in NAV 2009 it is now case sensitive. Has anyone seen any other objects where we might run into this same problem?

Comments

  • ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,256
    One correction I would add is that the code in all version is
      GLAcc.TABLECAPTION :
        EXIT(0);
    

    It exists with zero.

    As far as text and code comparison. That would be rare and in this case is a bug that was fixed in 2009.
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer


    blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n
  • ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,256
    Another solution is to export form 408 from 2009 and load it into your 5.0 database.
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer


    blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n
  • ajhvdbajhvdb Member Posts: 672
    Do you have to upgrade to 2009 to abide by the External Connector license?
  • ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,256
    I don't think this thread is about licensing.
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer


    blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n
  • ajhvdbajhvdb Member Posts: 672
    I understand, but it's a valid question related to this. Buying the external connector license (its free until june) will allow you to use it in all versions.
  • ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,256
    ajhvdb wrote:
    I understand, but it's a valid question related to this. Buying the external connector license (its free until june) will allow you to use it in all versions.

    Oh sorry. The external connector was introduced in 2009. I don't know if it applies to previous version. I'm guessing if you do an exe upgrade to 2009, it would apply, but am not sure. You'll need to talk with Microsoft directly.
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer


    blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n
Sign In or Register to comment.