Unit Amount in the Item Journal

user123user123 Member Posts: 22
Hi,

I am new to NAV. Can anyone explain how the 'Unit Amount' is calculated in the item journal? :roll:

What is the difference between the 'Unit Cost' and the 'Unit Amount' in the item journal? I understand the 'Unit Cost' in the item journal line as calculated by adding overhead rate and indirect cost to the unit cost in the item card.

Appreciate an immediate response.

Thanks

Comments

• vasilis6669vasilis6669 Member Posts: 109
    Hi,

Unit amount is the selling amount of an item. Unit cost is the calculated purchase cost from the vendor or final manufactured cost. Depends from the costing method used.

Hope that helps
  • Alex_ChowAlex_Chow Member Posts: 5,063
    I almost always use the Unit Amount. I never use the Unit Cost on the item journal. I think there were some costing problems back in version 2.0 where if you only put in the unit cost and not the unit amount, funky numbers will appear.
  • austinaustin Member Posts: 191
    Alex Chow wrote:
    I almost always use the Unit Amount. I never use the Unit Cost on the item journal. I think there were some costing problems back in version 2.0 where if you only put in the unit cost and not the unit amount, funky numbers will appear.

That means even we do positive adjustments , Purchase (for example) , we better to use Unit amount field only.
    even we do Negitive adjust, sales(for example)then use Unit amount field

is it correct ?
  • ritesh.singhritesh.singh Member Posts: 123
    user123 wrote:
    Hi,

I am new to NAV. Can anyone explain how the 'Unit Amount' is calculated in the item journal? :roll:

What is the difference between the 'Unit Cost' and the 'Unit Amount' in the item journal? I understand the 'Unit Cost' in the item journal line as calculated by adding overhead rate and indirect cost to the unit cost in the item card.

Hi,

I would suggest you to try to use F1 for any help regarding fields other functionality.