Upgrading Navision 4.0 SP2 to SP3 (newbie question)

nextguynextguy Member Posts: 6
Hi all,

I have to say that I am a newbie and I have looked at about 6 or 7 posts about this subject but I still do not understand. I need to upgrade our company from NAV 4.0 SP2 to SP3. I have in my possession an fbk backup of the live data as well as the SP2 client on my computer. Do I just need to install the SP3 client on my computer, create an empty database, and then restore the backup into it?

I read a lot of things about merging base objects and loading new ones but I don't understand what this means. The person that used to manage the database is no longer around and there are no more developers either so I don't have a fob file with these objects. If I open the current SP2 database with an SP2 client, can I export the objects and import them into my newly created SP3 database?

As I said, I am pretty much a newbie and I am not too sure what I need to do. We do not have the budget to hire an MBS consultant so I am really stuck doing this myself. Eventually I need to migrate the database to SQL Server 2005. I have read the documentation on Microsoft's site and understand that I need to first import the migrate.fob object and then back up the database to an fbk file. I can then open the SQL Server option of the client, create a new database on the server, and then restore the fbk file. In any case, this is for a later step. I first need to upgrade to SP3.

Thanks for all your detailed help :D

Comments

• Alex_ChowAlex_Chow Member Posts: 5,063
    STOP!!!!!!!

Are you an end user or a NAV solution center?

As an end user, I highly recommended you to ask your NAV partner to help through this process.

If you're an NSC, ask the senior developer in your company for help.
  • nextguynextguy Member Posts: 6
    Alex Chow wrote:
    STOP!!!!!!!

Are you an end user or a NAV solution center?