Setup Dynamics 5.0 server without Active Directory?

BlackMagicBlackMagic Member Posts: 38
Hi im trying to install and setup Dynamics Nav 5.0 native server on Windows Home Server (WHS). WHS dont have Active Directory (AD) so it is not possible for me using the described step in the manual to publish the server as a service.

However it is also not possible for me to installing the AD, because then it would break the standard Webbased Console Interface which come with the WHS.

So my question is, it is possible to setup/publish the server without AD and how?

Its my first time installation of a Navision server. Hope some can give me a step-by-step guide.

Comments

• bbrownbbrown Member Posts: 3,268
    NAV does not require AD. It is an option. Just install. Users will access using the server's DNS name or IP address.
    There are no bugs - only undocumented features.
  • BlackMagicBlackMagic Member Posts: 38
    Hmm okie, but i have install the server application and client application on my the server. But where should I put the database im creating so that the client hit it, when typing the ip when trying connecting the database?
  • garakgarak Member Posts: 3,263
    u must link the server with the database (read also the manual w1w1ism.pdf).
    The AD is only needed for an easier Windows user authentification.
    Do you make it right, it works too!
    Thank for the reply. But i have try looking into the manual and i cannot find the part describing the link..

Im only find the describing about the publishing through AD (in the w1w1ism.pdf):

In order for other server and client computers to be able to identify and connect with
    your C/SIDE Database Server, you must publish it in the network. Before you can
    publish a C/SIDE Database Server in the network, you must add a definition of a
    Dynamics NAV service connection point to the Active Directory. C/SIDE Database