Connecting to a Nav (4.0) database using the C/Side client

jwrightjwright Member Posts: 6
Let me preface this post with the fact that I'm a Navision noob, and this is my first time installing and trying to use the product as we have a business requirement for a Navision 4 server. I have installed Nav 4.0 SP1 one a Windows 2003 server and I can connect with the C/Side client fine on the server. However where I am having difficultly is in setting up a client (on xp) to connect to the server. I've been searching on the forums and googling around and have not found an answer. Am I just missing something obvious here? If you guys could point me the the right direction I would very much appreciate it.

Comments

• SavatageSavatage Member Posts: 7,142
    open up the client file->database->open

Are you entering the Database name or IP address?

In the advanced tab are you selecting tcp?

then file->Company->open
  • jwrightjwright Member Posts: 6
    Well I have gotten as far as setting the 'Net Type' setting to TCP. I have verified that the client can ping the navision 4 server by name so I have specified the servername 'Nav4'. I am unsure as to what I should put for the database name. I should also mention that I did not install a copy of the demo database on the xp client machine (but the demo database is installed on the server). So would I need to create a share on the nav server and enter the unc path to access the database (fdb)?
  • ToutatisToutatis Member Posts: 6
    jwright wrote: