Word/Excel Buttons

satraja2004satraja2004 Member Posts: 45
Hi All,

Can anyone tell me how word/excel buttons in the menu bar works and the basic concept behind this,

i no it's very late to ask this, as i am new to navision, i need ur's help.
Thanks & Regards

Raja.B

Comments

• Luc_VanDyckLuc_VanDyck Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 3,633
    Start the NAV on-line help, and type "style sheets" in the field on the Index-tab:
    You can export data from card windows and lists in Microsoft Dynamics NAV to other programs, such as Microsoft Office Word or Excel.

The data is exported as an XML file, and the file is formatted using a style sheet that has been imported into Microsoft Dynamics NAV.

You use the Manage Style Sheets window to import and export style sheets, and view the list of style sheets. Changes that you make in this window apply to all users of the database.

There are default style sheets installed with Microsoft Dynamics NAV, which can be used to export any form to Word or Excel. You need to import a new style sheet if you want to export to another program. You can also import style sheets that are made especially for one particular form in Microsoft Dynamics NAV.

The download Microsoft Dynamics NAV Style Sheet Tool v1.1 contains a pdf with detailed instructions how to create those Style Sheets.
    No support using PM or e-mail - Please use this forum. BC TechDays 2024: 13 & 14 June 2024, Antwerp (Belgium)
  • satraja2004satraja2004 Member Posts: 45
    Thanks for your reply mate

Am a newbie to navision and i have some queries

Is it possible to export any report to excel/word using the menu bar excel/word icon ?

i was successful in exporting with automation but my question is can we do it with the menubar icons??

THANKS IN ADVANCE :|
    Thanks & Regards

Raja.B
  • WaldoWaldo Member Posts: 3,412
    Yes you can.

But mind the maximum of 5000 records (which is set up in the Tools/Options)

Eric Wauters
    MVP - Microsoft Dynamics NAV