automating Phys. Inventory count using reports

mwalshmwalsh Member Posts: 24
Quick summary - new to forums (in general, never had to post anywhere before), not completely new to Navision or C/AL but enough to where I cant solve this problem. I am a programmer on a two year full time contract with a client of mine who runs Navision 5. Their Microsoft Partner was unable to complete the project (or even start it) after they took about $78,000.00, needless to say, i've been doing all the work myself. The new Navision partner wants $40,000.00 to step in and finish up, which isnt giong to happen. So herein lies the dilema. The problem - I am stuck trying to correct an inventory mistake made by the previous Navision partner, they posted the last 5 years of invoices against my current, and correct inventory count, and now I cant reverse it. Using a report, could someone help me, cycle through all the items (there are 4,600) and set the Phys. Inventory Count (Qty. on Hand) to 0... OR, go through the last five years of invoices, previous to 9/22/08 and do an adjustment against the inventory to correct the numbers, thereby making it appear the last five years had never affected the inventory in the first place?

I am stumped and days away from the client dumping Navision for their previous system after all this time and money. Can someone please help?

If it makes a difference - we have a full developer license as well in the event that it cannot be done through reports.

Thank you!
Matthew R. Walsh

Comments

• SavatageSavatage Member Posts: 7,142
    how was the correct amount entered? A 1 time Dataload of the correct Qty on Hand using a dataport to the Item Journal?

& then what happened? invoices added? So when you drill into an items qty on hand what do you see?

a dataload line and a bunch of Entry Types = Sales?

Have you tried an Phy Inv Journal -> functions calculate inv? no filters should pull up every item when you could zero out the inv.