Upgrade / License problem

ccbryan63ccbryan63 Member Posts: 115
Some time ago I had an interesting problem-- My client is a US subsidiary of a German firm. The parent corporation wanted the US company to use Navision, with the parent company's mods. So I ended up doing an upgrade to 4.0 and moving from worldwide to NA simultaneously.

Somehow during that process we ended up with a lot of objects in the current database that now as a developer I don't have access to, and that's blocking my present upgrade to 5.0. The objects (forms, tables, report and codeunits) are all in the 5047750 to 5047799 range, and relate to machine inspection and maintenance.

I am using a developer license, logged in to Navision as a superuser, and I am denied permission to these objects... so the upgrade step where the old objects are deleted errors out and I cannot proceed.

Any thoughts on how I can remove these (unused) objects?

Thanks...

Comments

• WaldoWaldo Member Posts: 3,412
    Well, if I understand correctly, this might be going on:
    It is not possible to put two country versions in one license. therefore, you should have a NA developer license and a German one. If you're working with the NA developer's license, you're not allowed to add fields in the range of the german localisation (I mean the localised objects).

A way to get arround this is:
    import a fob file with the new fields, use "merge new into existing" when importing them, afterwards, import your merged text file.
    To do this, it might be a problem because the C/AL might refer to objects that don't exist. Therefore, you might have to first alter the table (remove the code), save as fob, import the fob (merge existing<-New), import merged txt file.
    the "Merge Existing<-New" is necessary, because you want all your fields in it (both NA and German).