Upgrade 3.70 to 5 or 2009

RobySpainRobySpain Member Posts: 57
Hi,

I am thinking about upgrade one Nav 3.70 to Nav 5.0. But recently, I've received information about the 2009 version. Then, I have a doubt. I must wait to migrate directly (or step by step 3.70, 4, 5) to 2009 version, or I must update only to the nav 5.0?

New versions, usually have a lot of "bugs", but an update is very expensive.... Then, what about your recomendations?

Thanks and best regards,

Robyn

Comments

• djswimdjswim Member Posts: 277
    A couple of thoughts... first of all, if an upgrade to 5.0 is going to be required during your upgrade to 2009, then it won't add that much cost to do it in two steps.

Second, as a consultant I think it would be a lot of fun being one of the first sites to go live on 2009, but as a business owner, not a chance.

If my employer told me they were thinking about it and wanted my opinion, I'd say wait for the first few hotfixes and patches (SPs).... if they told me they had already made their decision, I'd just start reading :)
    "OMG ALL MY DATA IS GONE"
    "Show All..."
    "Oh..."
  • ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,256
    djswim wrote:
    A couple of thoughts... first of all, if an upgrade to 5.0 is going to be required during your upgrade to 2009, then it won't add that much cost to do it in two steps.

I would wait till 2009 is released before making any decisions.
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer

blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n
  • WaldoWaldo Member Posts: 3,412
    I agree with rashed.

We know they are working on a "simple" upgrade to "6.0", but no-one can guarantee until it has been released.

Until now (I converted my db to NAV2009) it's just a fairly simple object-merge, page creation and report generation job... .

My two cents...

Eric Wauters
    MVP - Microsoft Dynamics NAV
    My blog
  • Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    Two recomendations