Transfer Orders in Nav 5.00

bangibangi Member Posts: 11
I am new to Navision and just need some guidence as whether I am on right track.

Transfer orders Ship and Receive moves inventory from one location to another.

If a dimension is provided on Ship it will Credit the stock account
and debit the cogs adjustment account and then further it reverse out the above.

If a different dimension is provided on Receive it will again Debit the stock account and credit cogs adjustment account and reverse out the above.

Therefore the net effect on General Ledger analysis by Dimension is 0.

Item Ledger however is correct in that Ship from Location gets a reduction in Inventory and Receive Location Inventory is increased.

We require that when Inventory is Shipped from 1 Location to another that
General Ledger dimensions should reflect this.

In order to achive this I have used Inventory Journals and this has the correct effect on GL and on the inventory by location as well.

Is there a better way of achiving the same.
If so please enlighten me.

:?

Comments

• AdamRoueAdamRoue Member Posts: 1,283
    The dimension against an item is item related, by using it to reflect the location it resides you start to move away from the initial intention of the dimension on the item and start to find some big holes in how NAV processes.

You could use a transfer order and then use the item reclassification journal to reset the dimensions. You could write a modification to handle the dimension and location relationship in this instance. You will note that the responsibility centres handle the dimension and location relationship, however you cannot transfer between responsibility centres using a transfer order.

There is currently no slick way around this, and if possible avoid it during an implementation - as a suggestion or recommendation anyway, if the customer wants it that is another matter!