Tuning

doubtfiredoubtfire Member Posts: 60
I am new to Navision. Should the tuning be done under Navision or under SQL database !? Thanks for any advice.

Comments

• krikikriki Member, Moderator Posts: 9,110
    Depends if you are tuning for native or SQL-DB. :wink:
    If you need to tune for SQL, best use a SQL-DB. This way you can immediately do some small test to see what happens.
    Regards,Alain Krikilion
    No PM,please use the forum. || May the <SOLVED>-attribute be in your title!

• doubtfiredoubtfire Member Posts: 60
    In regards to SQL-DB, I could follow the procedure. Could you please tell me more about the Navision side tuning ? Thanks.
  • Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    Please search the forum for SQL Performence etc. there are tons and tons of posts.
  • krikikriki Member, Moderator Posts: 9,110
    doubtfire wrote:
    In regards to SQL-DB, I could follow the procedure. Could you please tell me more about the Navision side tuning ? Thanks.
    "Navision side tuning" : you mean native DB tuning?

That is quite more complicated then SQL-tuning. Here you have to search the indexes that are not needed, check if they are not used and if they are used, change programs to use another index.
    You can also use client monitor while working to check were bad keys are used.
    Regards,Alain Krikilion
    No PM,please use the forum. || May the <SOLVED>-attribute be in your title!

Merci. So usually Navision users would turn to the SQL- tuning rather than the native Navision tuning, which is more complicated ? Does Navision itself has a tuning program, if yes where or relies on third add-on application !?
  • jlandeenjlandeen Member Posts: 524
    I think you've hit on 2 key issues. Application/Code tuning and Database Tuning. These are 2 very different issues and both can have profound effects on how well Navision will perform.