Options

Optimise Navision

Simo_baSimo_ba Member Posts: 78
edited 2008-09-02 in SQL Performance
Hi guys,
i'm not an expert in SQL, but i need to stop runnig Optimise Tables from Navision and relpace it with something else that will be run at the SQL server side as scheduled Job.
So i found Stryk SP ssi_delzerosift, but i read in the Mibuso site that deleting SIFT record may cause Flowfield calculation troubles.

So guys i'm really confused, what can i do to plan a maintenance plan for my Navision Database instead of runing Optimise Tables.???
i'll apreciate any suggestion.
Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    krikikriki Member, Moderator Posts: 9,089
    If you use the latest update for NAV 4.0SP3, then you won't have problems with the flowfield calculations.
    So you can use it.

Even if you don't deleting SIFT records, create a job to rebuild the indexes on SQL. This should be done at least once a week and each day you should do a SQLstatistics calculation. Or (if possible) do each day an indexrebuild.
    Regards,Alain Krikilion
    No PM,please use the forum. || May the <SOLVED>-attribute be in your title!

• Options
    strykstryk Member Posts: 645
    The problem with inconsistent FlowFields after SIFT maintenance affects the NAV versions 4.0 Build No. >= 19365 to < 25143; this was fixed with NAV 4.0 SP3 Update 6 Build 25143.
    Also affected: NAV 5.0 before SP1

Previous versions of NAV - 3.70 and older - don't have this bug.
    Jörg A. Stryk (MVP - Dynamics NAV)
    NAV/SQL Performance Optimization & Troubleshooting
    STRYK System Improvement
    The Blog - The Book - The Tool
  • Options
    Thanks guys,
    Unfortunatly, i ran a rebuiled index from sql it takes 18h to be done, is it something to be done to improve my data base performance, by the way i bought your sql-performance book stryk good job, keep up the good work.
    so my issue is, my client want to replace Navision Table Optimisation, with a scheduled Job in Sql, any suggestion guys??