SQL Trace Flag 4616 error...

boywonderboywonder Member Posts: 179
edited 2008-08-25 in SQL General
I keep getting a SQL Trace Flag error (4616) message when trying to connect to the server. (I am running NAV 4.0 under SQL)

I know how to solve this problem, going into SQL Management Studio and executing a query .....

DBCC TRACEON(4616,-1)

But the weird part and the problem is that every time I reboot the machine I have to do this again :?

Seems like this isn't being saved but saving the Query alone won't do anything...so not sure what to do....HELP!!

Thanks :D

Comments

  • Slawek_GuzekSlawek_Guzek Member Posts: 1,690
    You need add this trace flag in the mssqlserver process startup parameters

    To do this open the SQL Server Configuration Manager, select SQL 2005 Services, in the right pane right click SQL Server (MSSQLSERVER) process, click Properites, go to Advanced tab, in the Startup Parameters add at the end the following:
    ;-T4616
    

    The above instruction assumes that you're using default SQL server instance

    Regards,
    Slawek
    Slawek Guzek
    Dynamics NAV, MS SQL Server, Wherescape RED;
    PRINCE2 Practitioner - License GR657010572SG
    GDPR Certified Data Protection Officer - PECB License DPCDPO1025070-2018-03
  • rajpatelbcarajpatelbca Member Posts: 178
    hi,
    refer Installation manual guide(W1W1ISQL.PDF ) available in doc folder of Product CD.

    just find 4616 you will find that how to eliminate this error.

    hope it helps.
    Experience Makes Man Perfect....
    Rajesh Patel
  • boywonderboywonder Member Posts: 179
    You need add this trace flag in the mssqlserver process startup parameters

    To do this open the SQL Server Configuration Manager, select SQL 2005 Services, in the right pane right click SQL Server (MSSQLSERVER) process, click Properites, go to Advanced tab, in the Startup Parameters add at the end the following:Code:

    That's great :D ....but sorry to be a nuisance I have looked all over & can't find 'services' in my version...I am running SQL Server Management Studio 2005.

    Any idea where I need to look? :?
  • rajpatelbcarajpatelbca Member Posts: 178
    see follow these steps which are listed below.

    1. open start menu -> program files -> Microsoft SQL Server 2005-> configuration tools -> SQL Server configuration manager.

    where u will find SQL server instance under SQL server 2005 services. right click on properties. in advance tab.

    in Startup parameter add following code at last.

    ;-T4616


    if your problem will be solved then change your subject to [Solved].

    Thanks
    Experience Makes Man Perfect....
    Rajesh Patel
  • kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    boywonder wrote:
    You need add this trace flag in the mssqlserver process startup parameters

    To do this open the SQL Server Configuration Manager, select SQL 2005 Services, in the right pane right click SQL Server (MSSQLSERVER) process, click Properites, go to Advanced tab, in the Startup Parameters add at the end the following:Code:

    That's great :D ....but sorry to be a nuisance I have looked all over & can't find 'services' in my version...I am running SQL Server Management Studio 2005.

    Any idea where I need to look? :?

    It is not about Management studio but about Configuration Manager! :wink: (see the Start menu shortcuts for MS SQL...)
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,307
    Start -> All Programs -> Microsoft SQL Server 2005 -> Configuration Tools. This should open the SQL Server Configuration Manager. ON the left hand side you should see "sQL Server 2005 Services". If it is not already selected (which should be the default), click it. On the right hand side, you should see a list of SQL Server services. Right click the one that says "SQL Server" and the name of your SQL Server instance between parentheses, and select properties. You should see a tab called "Advanced", and on this tab you should find a property called "Startup Parameters". From here follow Slawek's advice.
  • DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,307
    WOW three people posting at the same time :mrgreen:

    By the way, you should recognize that you have no knowledge and follow people's advice to read certain documentation. This is all described in the w1w1isql.pdf document that someone pointed out. This document is on your NAV product disk in the Doc folder.
  • boywonderboywonder Member Posts: 179
    Ah ha, SQL configuration manager - I need to learn to read :roll: :lol:

    Doh #-o
  • DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,307
    You know I had the hardest time finding this myself, as in SQL Server 2000 the startup parameters were in the Enterprise manager, so I also spent a lot of time trying to locate them in SSMS. It's easy sometimes to get lost in new ways of setting properties. Glad you found it, and good luck :mrgreen:
  • krikikriki Member, Moderator Posts: 9,112
    [Topic moved from Navision forum to SQL General forum]
    Regards,Alain Krikilion
    No PM,please use the forum. || May the <SOLVED>-attribute be in your title!


  • azerty74azerty74 Member Posts: 82
    Here you can find some screenshots:
    http://plataan.typepad.com/microsoftdyn ... -trac.html
    Debugging is twice as hard as writing code. Therefore if you write the code as cleverly as possible you are by definition not smart enough to debug it.
  • WaldoWaldo Member Posts: 3,412
    And here :mrgreen: .
    But the above link is a better explanation... .

    Eric Wauters
    MVP - Microsoft Dynamics NAV
    My blog
  • barcombarcom Member Posts: 8
    edited 2008-08-25
    On our test system (SQL 2005 9.0.3257) i have 2 Navision Databases. First one is a copy of our Productive Database and working with Navision Build: 4.0.3.23305. Second one is thought to be a test for a new build which requires database conversion, Build: 4.0.3.26565. During conversion of second one, i set trace flag -t4616 on SQL Server.

    Question is; Has Trace Flag parameter an effect on my first database, which was running well before Trace Flag. Should i isolate or set-up another server for new build?

    thx in advance
  • kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    It has no negative effect to other databases...
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
Sign In or Register to comment.