Multicurrency - Loading begining balances.

Sapphire123Sapphire123 Member Posts: 112
Hi All,

How do I enter the beginning balances when I need them to be in both a local currency and additional reporting currency; and there is no constant exchange rate?

Any suggestion will help! [-o<

Comments

• Captain_DX4Captain_DX4 Member Posts: 230
    Does your existing platform allow you to revalue your balances to the current exchange rate? If you can, do that before you bring them over and then you can bring them in using the current exchange rate. Of course you'll have exchange adjustments to bring over too.
    Kristopher Webb
    Microsoft Dynamics NAV Developer
  • Sapphire123Sapphire123 Member Posts: 112
    Thank you .. I'll try this out.

Btw, I'm trying to get more information about Multicurrency. Except for the Finacial II book - I cant find anything else. Please let me know if you have other sources to reference. Many thanks!!
    *rotfl* I'm just a developer, so when people ask me more "accounting" based questions I get twitchy. That said, I know how the multicurrency works in broad terms from my experiences, so ask and I'll do my best to answer.
    Kristopher Webb

I'm working on this for a client ... and they said they can not revalue their balances before importing.. does not have this information.

They want ot load their beginning balance in LCY and Additional Reporting Currency, where the balance is a cumulative balance, consisting of amounts from more than one exchange rates; therefore, i can not use NAV's exchagne rate table when posting.

The General Ledger Journal form only has 'amount' - therefore, you can enter value in either LCY or antoher currency code - and navsion uses its adjust exchage rate values to post the other currency value.

The ideal entry would be if this user can enter a beginning balance in LCY and Addition reporting currency for each account. How do you do this without inserting records directly into the GL Entries table?