Getting Inventory and Pricing in Sync between companies

lisakinslisakins Member Posts: 23
I have a client that has requested that we create a function (does not have to be automatic, but can initiate from user) whereby their Company A can pull updated pricing on existing items in company B (Item No. would be the same in both companies) as well as look for Items that exist in Company B but have not been created in company A. After these items are identified, they want these items to pull from Company B and be inserted into Company A.

They have these 2 companies in the same database.

I initially thought of a dataport, but one of our Sr. programmers said it may be easier to create a Processing report.

Being a newbie, I have no idea what this is. Can you guys enlighten me and maybe point me in the proper direction for a solution?

Comments

• SavatageSavatage Member Posts: 7,142
    has anyone discussed the possibility of changing DataPerCompany property of the table?

or do you want to keep inv seperate?
    do both companies use the same item #'s for the same items?

Search the forum for DataPerCompany to get tips & positives & negative.
    Plus see Nav C/side help for explanation in better detail.

Let us know if this is your REAL goal.
  • lisakinslisakins Member Posts: 23
    Yes, they have just enough difference in ownership between A and B that they want the inventory separate, but both companies sell the same products, just through different channels.

I'll do a search as you suggest.

Thank you
  • SavatageSavatage Member Posts: 7,142
    edited 2007-10-19
    Perhaps you can analyse this download to see how it works
    Data Transfer Wizard