Unattented installation of Navision 4.0

KisuKisu Member Posts: 381
Hey guys, I'd need some info.
Is there way to install Navision 4.0 unattented, I'd need to install the client software fully on 20 computers in 1 day :/
K.S.

Comments

• WaldoWaldo Member Posts: 3,412
    It IS possible, but I have no experience.

But really ... only 20 computers ... you can do that in one hour!

Eric Wauters
    MVP - Microsoft Dynamics NAV
    My blog
  • KisuKisu Member Posts: 381
    Waldo wrote:

Every installation should be similar, so if I install the computers invidually there is a risk that some compies differ. Would be easier also to just share it from server I think and run the installation with script. :o?
    K.S.
  • todrotodro Member Posts: 117
    Kisu wrote:
    Waldo wrote:

Every installation should be similar, so if I install the computers invidually there is a risk that some compies differ. Would be easier also to just share it from server I think and run the installation with script. :o?
    run it like this:

msiexec.exe /i "Navision Application Server 4.0 SP3.msi" /qb INSTALLLEVEL=1 /norestart /L*v c:\Naviinstall.log

where you have to specifiy the appropriate *.msi package and an (optional) log file when using /L. Installlevel = 1 indicates FULL installation

Try this on a local machine first. If you need to make some customization during installation, e.g. installation path etc, I only see the usage of a transformation file (*.mst)
    Torsten
    MCP+I, MCSE NT, Navision MCT (2004,2005)
  • KisuKisu Member Posts: 381
    todro wrote:

msiexec.exe /i "Navision Application Server 4.0 SP3.msi" /qb INSTALLLEVEL=1 /norestart /L*v c:\Naviinstall.log

where you have to specifiy the appropriate *.msi package and an (optional) log file when using /L. Installlevel = 1 indicates FULL installation