Migrating from Native db to SQL db

chris_johnsonchris_johnson Member Posts: 22
Hi all,

I usually only post on here when I'm completely without hope and I can't use some 'creative development' to get around the issue (as you can see at time of writing I've posted 10 times in about 4 years!) but please, allow me to tell you a story.

I am a developer working for an end-user company with quite a heavily modified Navision solution. We have been looking to move from the native db to the SQL db for some time and I finally have time to do it now. I have encountered the odd problem, which I have managed to work through using the upgrade toolkit.

The issue I am struggling with is the restoration of a native backup into an sql db. Whilst I have a licence that allows me to create databases up to 62(ish)GB using the native db, when I try to create the sql db it will only allow me up to 2GB in size.

Question: Are there two different settings in the licence file for the size of db I can create (one for native and one for sql)?

I have tried a variety of ways to create the database, by letting sql handle the size expansion itself and also by specifying the size (which is where I get the licence error message).

Any thoughts would be appreciated,

Chris

Answers

• kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    The problem is not NAV license, but used MS SQL server. You installed MSDE edition (free one) which have limit on max. DB size (2GB). You need to use Standard or Enterprise edition or Developer edition of MS SQL. And do not forget, that there is max file size connected to FAT file system.
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • chris_johnsonchris_johnson Member Posts: 22
    Thanks for the reply kine.

It's interesting you say this as I have installed SQL Server 2005 (with SP2 applied). As a side note I am also running Vista. I shall check the version numbers of my SQL installation to see what this tells me.

Thanks again,

Chris