Options

Practical use of Codeunit Instances

AkilaAkila Member Posts: 19
Hi All,
Codeunit has two instances. Single instance and Multiple Instance. But I don't know the practical use of it. If anyone explains with example, it will be very useful to me.

Thanks in Advance..........
Dream is not the thing, what you see in the sleep. Dream is the thing, which does not let you sleep.

Comments

• Options
    ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,255
    Here is an example of single instance CU.

http://www.mibuso.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... empglentry

Also Single Instance CU are used on NAS.
    To accept connection.

Run a timer for scheduler
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer

blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n
  • Options
    Hi ara3n,
    i am new to navision. i didn't get clear idea of single instance practical use from that link.
    Could you explain in simple way with example. Please Add Multi instance also............
    Dream is not the thing, what you see in the sleep. Dream is the thing, which does not let you sleep.
  • Options
    DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,304
    Single instance codeunits can 'live' in only one instance per session. When you start a single instance codeunit, it will not be destroyed from memory, so all global variables in it are alive and available to other objects. When you start a single instance codeunit for the second time, the system know that it is already running and it will use the one that's already running.

Normal codeunits can live in multiple instances at the same time. This means that when you start the codeunit for a second time, it will be created in its own memory space, and it will keep its own set of variables.
  • Options
    jlandeenjlandeen Member Posts: 524
    I have found 2 uses for single instance codeunits.