MSMQ and IP Address

MTCMTC Member Posts: 159
Hi,

I have a project that involves MSMQ messages and NAS. Now, as I've never used MSMQ messages before, I have been doing several tests using two Navision clients, each running a form. One is acting like the NAS, the other as whatever external application. Both are running on the same machine.

Now, this is the problem. Everything works fine when I am using the name of the machine to identify the queue to which I want to send the message. However, when I change this to the IP address (remember it's the IP address of my machine) the message never gets received by the form acting as a server.

Works
OutMsg := CC2.CreateoutMessage('Message queue://mymachine\private$\ptoNavision');

Doesn't work:
OutMsg := CC2.CreateoutMessage('Message queue://192.168.1.xx\private$\ptoNavision');

Does anyone have a clue as to why this might be? As I've said, I've never done this before, so the problem could be something very simple and very silly.

Comments

• nunomaianunomaia Member Posts: 1,153
    Private queues are local to server and are not available to other servers. Private queues are not published in Active Directory. Convert it to a public queue.
    Nuno Maia

Freelance Dynamics AX
    Blog : http://axnmaia.wordpress.com/
  • MTCMTC Member Posts: 159
    Thanks, but it makes no difference. The form acting as the server does not receive the message, and thus the form acting as the client times out on
    ReturnMessage := OutMsg.SendWaitForReply(5000);

Yet works fine using the machine name.

Also, are public queues only available to systems in the same domain however? What if I wanted to send an MSMQ message outside of the domain?
  • nunomaianunomaia Member Posts: 1,153
    Yes you are right, I was checking old data :) and you can use remote private queues.