Version Control with Navision

foolosofofoolosofo Member Posts: 73
Hello!

I'm a new Navision Developer and I'm interesting in knowing the different tools for version control in Navision.

What kind of tool or protocol are you using?

I used to work with Microsoft Source Safe but I think it's not the correct Application in this case. I need a version control application that allows me to manage the changes between a group of developers.

Thank you for your answers!

Comments

• Marije_BrummelMarije_Brummel Member, Moderators Design Patterns Posts: 4,262
    The only tool that realy works, with all developers in one database is QPM.

Search the forum or contact Jan Boes at www.qurius..nl
  • FishermanFisherman Member Posts: 456
    Our version control is more process centered.

I'm the project leader on our implementation team. Only one person on my team is allowed to import modifications (unless he's not here, and then I do it). All other developers have local copies which they are to update prior to starting any code change.

With a code change, they are required to report any objects that are changing, the new version number, and the versions of any objects that the changed object is using. We verify that they're working with the correct version, export the existing objects, import the change to a test system, and test.

All of that goes into an Excel document.

It's primitive, but it works. Fortunately, we're a pretty small IT shop - this wouldn't work well (without automation) if you had a lot of developers (more than 5, has been our experience).
  • ovicashovicash Member Posts: 141
    edited 2007-02-09
    As far as I know Celenia has a product like that. It was one of the a prices of the the "Download of the year".

On their site you'll find a smal video about how the application works.
    ovidiu

Best Regards
  • DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,305