"File" Table

ovicashovicash Member Posts: 141
Does anyone know that exactly does the "File" table (2000000022).

I've exported the data from it but it seems to be empty table .

thx
ovidiu

Best Regards

Comments

  • Luc_VanDyckLuc_VanDyck Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 3,633
    That's because it's a Virtual table. It is filled at run-time by Navision, when you need the object.

    Have a look at these threads for more info:
    check text file existance
    Virtual tables
    No support using PM or e-mail - Please use this forum. BC TechDays 2024: 13 & 14 June 2024, Antwerp (Belgium)
  • ovicashovicash Member Posts: 141
    thx Luc :oops: :oops: :oops:

    i knew it was a virtual table but i didn't find anything on forum. :oops:
    ovidiu

    Best Regards
  • Luc_VanDyckLuc_VanDyck Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 3,633
    No problem.

    And welcome to the EU ;-)
    No support using PM or e-mail - Please use this forum. BC TechDays 2024: 13 & 14 June 2024, Antwerp (Belgium)
  • Alex_ChowAlex_Chow Member Posts: 5,063
    ovicash wrote:
    Does anyone know that exactly does the "File" table (2000000022).

    I've exported the data from it but it seems to be empty table .

    thx

    Lanham's EDI granule also uses this table to get EDI documents.
  • lubostlubost Member Posts: 623
    This "table" by my mean doesn't contains any data. It only "read" folder according to filter done bz SETFILTER (SETRANGE) commands.
  • DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,305
    It is not a table, it only acts that way. They are called virtual tables, so you can use table methods to browse. Don't know why you would not be able to export the content of a virtual table though, I'd have to try out the file one.
  • OnewayOneway Member Posts: 53
    could you guys tell me,
    How to refresh the File Table in C/AL?
  • WaldoWaldo Member Posts: 3,412
    Doesn't this do the job?
    CLEAR(recFile);
    //Apply filters
    

    Eric Wauters
    MVP - Microsoft Dynamics NAV
    My blog
  • QuivelusQuivelus Member Posts: 24
    Oneway wrote:
    could you guys tell me,
    How to refresh the File Table in C/AL?

    It seems that in Navision this is to be done by changing the range for the Path field. Got this tip on this forum, but don't know the link. Next code works for me:


    // Refresh File-table: START // THIS SEEMS TO BE NECESSARY!
    // Trick is to (re)set File.Path temporary to an other path
    LRec_File.SETRANGE(Path,ENVIRON('Temp')); // Navision always has Temp-file
    IF LRec_File.FINDFIRST THEN;
    // Refresh File-table: STOP

    // Now begin by setting your range
    LRec_File.SETRANGE(Path,ptxt_Path);
    IF LRec_File.FINDFIRST THEN BEGIN
    // Your code
    Bohr-ing.
  • lespinosalespinosa Member Posts: 3
    I have a problem with this table.
    I have a form of this table filter by a path and if I i create a file in this path, it doen't appear when i execute this.

    how can i refresh this table to recharge it and it show me all files?

    thanks
  • DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,305
    I think you have to:
    1 - save the filter
    2 - clear the filter
    3 - set the filter to the saved value
    4 - update the form.

    Something about the way that the virtual table is populated is a bit strange.
Sign In or Register to comment.