Navision 2.60F on Windows Server 2003

jaredjared Member Posts: 5
edited 2006-11-10 in Navision Financials
Hi.

I am new to the Navision Circle. The company I work for now has this installed and running on Windows Server 2000. The server is about 5 years old and needing to be replaced. I have a new Windows Server 2003 running next to it and have moved almost everything off the Win 2000 Server and all is ok now, but I would like to port the Navision to Win Server 2003. I looked over the literature which was in their network room, but it looked as if it would not run on 2003. Will Navision 2.60F run on a 2003 server? When I tried to do it initially I was not able to install it, there were errors generated. If this can run on Windows Server 2003, what is the best configuration to use it in? Lastly, the system is still using the FDB single file database, not SQL server. The db is approx. 9.5 GB, can we still run with this or would it be better to go to SQL server?

Appreciate any help you can provide.

Jared

Comments

• ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,256
    A few questions,

Has the company been up to date on maintenance plan?
    How many users are using Navision?
    What is your hardware configuration on 2003?
    Which sql server 2000 or 2005?

I believe you can install navision db on 2003. You have to simply copy the server folder and install it through command prompt.
    Search the forum and you'll find examples.

As to go sql. If you go with 2005, then you need the latest client executables which is 4.0 sp3. This means that your company has been paying for free upgrades.

2.6F can still run on sql 2000. I have several clients that run it. If you have 30 or more users, sql would be better. You still have to purchase the sql granule for navision, and of course purchase sql server, unless you already have it.