Options

Navision Attain Cluster and SQL Server questions?

dwainek@sporthaley.comdwainek@sporthaley.com Member Posts: 3
edited 2003-01-29 in Navision Attain
We will be implementing Navision Attain 3.6 over the next 6 months. I have some questions for those experienced.

Q: Can Attain run on a two node cluster with Windows 2000 Advanced Server? I have read that Axapta can cluster but haven’t found anything on Attain.

Q: If running SQL Server, do clients access the db direct or do they go through the Navision service? If through the Navision service, could this service be distributed as a middle tier on a separate box allowing SQL Server dedicated resources?

I’ve been told that performance suffers moving to SQL Server. Couldn’t this lag be eliminated with a properly tuned db? Since Attain only uses one CPU, I find it hard to believe that SQL Server running multiple CPU cannot outperform Navision db unless the SQL db was poorly designed.

Q: Have those that converted to SQL Server seen decreases in performance? Have the issues been resolved?

Thanks in advance.

Dwaine

Comments

• Options
    kraxmokraxmo Member Posts: 7
    Hi Dwaine,

Regarding questions 2 and 3, I tried going to Attain 3.1 SQL last summer and encountered multiple locking problems during the first 3 weeks of implentation with 70+ users. Reservation table locking was a primary concern when entering sales orders while processing warehouse assignments and production orders.