Options

Query on Sql server

bobnavisionbobnavision Member Posts: 159
Hi i have got few queris.

1. when we create users in Sql Srrver and define roles in Navision, Do we need to synchronise before the user can login?

2. Also does all users need to logout before we run the synchrosiation ?

3. Do we also need to stop the NAS if there is one running.

I will appreciate all your replies.

Thanks & Regards,

Comments

  • Options
    ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,256
    edited 2006-05-25
    1. yes
    2. no, but performance issues (locking). In sp1 u can synch one user at a time.
    3. no, unless you are changing permission for nas. you'll run into the same issues as regular users.
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer


    blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n
  • Options
    thaugthaug Member Posts: 106
    1. Yes, unless you give them db_owner in the Enterprise Manager, which of course is not suggested. I will say that if I run in to some minor problems that are related to an improper sync, or a misapplied role, I will temporarly for the day give that particular user or users the db_owner, do the sync, and then change them back.
    2. I would highly suggest it. I end up doing the syncs at night to avoid potential problems. I have seen plenty of deadlocks with users, even with only one user logging in while I was syncing. Of course these deadlocks stop the process and it has to be done again.
    3. Following the advice of #2, I would also say yes.
    There is no data, only bool!
  • Options
    DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,304
    3: only if you have any object changes that affects the stuff that NAS is supposed to do, or if you make changes to the user permissions for the user that is set up as the NAS user.
Sign In or Register to comment.