Could not download reference symbols BC Saas 17.5

DamjanDamjan Member Posts: 92
Hi All,

We purchased BC SaaS version 17.5.22499.22680 and I would like to start with development.
Is it possible to do development on our Sandbox environment, not on some demo Sandbox that I got from Microsoft?

I have installed Visual Studio Code and and AL Language extension, and when I would like to download reference symbols error pops:

[2021-04-08 20:10:42.68] Using reference symbols cache path: c:\Users\d.zakojc\Documents\AL\ALProject1\./.alpackages
[2021-04-08 20:10:42.68] Sending request to https://api.businesscentral.dynamics.com/v2.0/sandbox/dev/packages?publisher=Microsoft&appName=Application&versionText=17.5.22499.22680
[2021-04-08 20:10:42.68] Sending request to https://api.businesscentral.dynamics.com/v2.0/sandbox/dev/packages?publisher=Microsoft&appName=System&versionText=17.5.22499.22680
[2021-04-08 20:10:42.96] The request for path /v2.0/sandbox/dev/packages?publisher=Microsoft&appName=System&versionText=17.5.22499.22680 failed with code NotFound. Reason: Not Found
[2021-04-08 20:10:42.96] The request for path /v2.0/sandbox/dev/packages?publisher=Microsoft&appName=Application&versionText=17.5.22499.22680 failed with code NotFound. Reason: Not Found
[2021-04-08 20:10:42.96] Could not download reference symbols. Please ensure that:
1. The correct server name and instance are specified in the launch.json file.
2. The correct application version is specified in the app.json file.
3. The dependencies are correctly specified in the app.json file.
Microsoft (R) AL Compiler version 7.1.6.48380
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved

Compilation started for project 'ALProject1' containing '1' files at '20:10:42.969'.

error AL1045: The package cache c:\Users\d.zakojc\Documents\AL\ALProject1\./.alpackages could not be found.

Compilation ended at '20:10:42.971'.

Error: The package could not be created.

This is app.json file
{
"id": "06215949-940e-4844-aada-a4e852feaad5",
"name": "ALProject1",
"publisher": "Default publisher",
"version": "1.0.0.0",
"brief": "",
"description": "",
"privacyStatement": "",
"EULA": "",
"help": "",
"url": "",
"logo": "",
"dependencies": [],
"screenshots": [],
"platform": "17.5.22499.22680",
"application": "17.5.22499.22680",
"idRanges": [
{
"from": 50100,
"to": 50149
}
],
"contextSensitiveHelpUrl": "https://ALProject1.com/help/",
"showMyCode": true,
"runtime": "7.0"
}

This is launch.json file:
{
"version": "0.2.0",
"configurations": [
{
"name": "Microsoft cloud sandbox",
"request": "launch",
"type": "al",
"environmentType": "Sandbox",
"environmentName": "sandbox",
"startupObjectId": 22,
"startupObjectType": "Page",
"breakOnError": true,
"launchBrowser": true,
"enableLongRunningSqlStatements": true,
"enableSqlInformationDebugger": true
}
]
}

Thank you
BR Damjan

Best Answer

  • ftorneroftornero Member Posts: 459
    Answer ✓
    Hello @Damjan,

    Yes, it is possible to deploy to your Sandbox.

    In the launch.json check if the "environmentName" is the exact name of your Sandbox and also you can use the "tenant" property to indicate your tenant.

    Regards.

Answers

  • ftorneroftornero Member Posts: 459
    Hello @Damjan

    This is very specific:

    bini1wjiwc98.png


    Try this:
    "platform": "17.0.0.0",
    "application": "17.0.0.0",
    

    And in the other hand "runtime": "7.0" is for version 18, for 17 is "6.0".

    Regards
  • DamjanDamjan Member Posts: 92
    Hi

    I tried your suggestion, but issues are still present.

    I do not understand how can I connect our own Sandbox environment to the Visual Studio Code, where I could write extensions and deploy them to Sandbox environment, if possible.
  • ftorneroftornero Member Posts: 459
    Answer ✓
    Hello @Damjan,

    Yes, it is possible to deploy to your Sandbox.

    In the launch.json check if the "environmentName" is the exact name of your Sandbox and also you can use the "tenant" property to indicate your tenant.

    Regards.
  • DamjanDamjan Member Posts: 92
    Hi,

    wow, it works as expected.
    I connected to my Sandbox (development database in-cloud) and published first page extension.

    I did this:
    app.json -> changed following:
    "platform": "17.0.0.0."
    "application": "17.5.0.0"
    "runtime": "6.0"
    bef2fm11cvkr.png

    launch,json -> changed following:
    "environmentType": "Sandbox",
    "environmentName": "PROD_Backup_25032021",
    iwdujvvw1x76.png
Sign In or Register to comment.