things consultants tend to not understand

Miklos_HollenderMiklos_Hollender Member Posts: 1,598
After 10 years of working as a consultant I switched to the end user side, doing most things on my own, but when I outsource some tasks to consultants, here are the two most widespread ways they don't understand the situation:

1) "No, I have no business processes or requirements. The subsidiary I have opened in your country is just a sales office. Not a real big business just one guy sitting in an office booking purchase and sales invoices, that is all. All I want is to be able to do the legal requirements, like VAT reports and accounting in your country, while I have no idea about the regulations in your country at all. Yes, we are hiring an accountant but we cannot just not sell our goods for months until we find one, and lose hundreds of thousands of revenue, so could you just set me up a general, standard, typical chart of accounts, VAT, posting groups, legal requirements on the invoice etc. that fits the regulations in your country without trying to sell me a week of project management and "analysis"? There is nothing to analyse, look, we don't even have a company yet and it will be a skeleton company anyway, we rent warehouse space at a logistics company and we will just have one guy issuing invoices, what do you want to analyse there? We just need to be able to invoice and receive payments while not violating any laws in your country, what is so hard about this? In fact, why don't have you already have a fixed price setup? Why no partner ever had the idea to make a generally well set up basic sales office subsidiary database in your country, where all legal requirements are preconfigured and basically you can just put in your name and address in Company Info and start issuing invoices 5 min later? Why nobody thought of making that?"