Options

NAV2013R2 Service Modules Enquiries

jasonandmaryjasonandmary Member Posts: 21
edited 2015-03-12 in NAV Three Tier
Hi all,

I have been exploring the services modules for awhile now and with the help of MDSN but I still can't figure out some flow.
Appreciate if someone can share with me a little more on the below.

1. Which industries is the services module commonly being used in, and in conjunction with which other modules (like Sales, Purchase, Financials?)

2. If I create a non-prepaid service contract > service invoice seems to be last day of month > contract invoice amount is split by 12 months (that's fine)
If I create a prepaid service contract > seems to be first day of month > but it keeps saying I must create a service order linked to contract > which I have created one and post > it is still blocking me from creating service invoice from service contract with the same error message

3. I am new to service modules so please pardon me. It doesn't work like trading module where if I post a sales invoice selling an item with a cost > it generates GL entries with both sales/AR and cost/inventory. I notice even though in service ledger entries there are unit cost or cost amount, it does not generate any GL entries, is there a batch job somewhere which will execute the GL entries related to the costing or normally how the industries recognize costing in services modules?

4. I have heard that there is this function where you can specify on the item card (I assume it is service item group) so when you create a sales order and post it, it will create a service item on service order automatically? Is this true? I would like to know where is service item normally created in > only service related documents like service contract, service order, service invoice/CNADJ? Seems like I can randomly generate a service item after description input? Is this normally how people creates service item or is there a recommended flow for it?