I will be interviewing NAV developer

Developer101Developer101 Member Posts: 528
edited 2014-05-23 in General Chat
I will be interviewing for NAV development/support position. I am an experienced NAV developer.
My job will be assessing the candidate’s technical skills. I could as 100 of questions but I would like to know what are those technical questions that should be asked or enough to judge someone’s technical expertise. 5 – 10 questions will do good.

Kindly help.
United Kingdom

Comments

• einsTeIn.NETeinsTeIn.NET Member Posts: 1,050
    David tends to ask his candidates about dimensions (http://www.mibuso.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=199680#p199680 8) ) which is a very hard question but after that you definitely get an idea of the candidate's skill level regarding NAV internals.

I think that should depend on the tasks that the candidate should perform in future. I mean a first level supporter doesn't need to know each and every detail to be a good supporter. If you want him/her to define (technical) concepts then the candidate probably needs to know more.
    "Money is likewise the greatest chance and the greatest scourge of mankind."
  • Miklos_HollenderMiklos_Hollender Member Posts: 1,598
    David tends to ask his candidates about dimensions (http://www.mibuso.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=199680#p199680 8) ) which is a very hard question but after that you definitely get an idea of the candidate's skill level regarding NAV internals.

I think it is not hard, because David wrote they don't need to know it from the top of their heads but allowed to have access to a NAV client and test it. That way it is easy, just a normal problem solving process. But know these things from the top of head would be harder.

A hard question would be like know from the top of your head the table number of transfer receipt header. As it would require really a lot of experience to remember it.
  • DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,304