Options

This looks like a bug in NAV (it still exists in 2013)

CharlehCharleh Member Posts: 44
edited 2013-11-29 in NAV Three Tier
Not entirely sure as my NAV knowledge is limited (I'm a relatively new NAV developer and currently learning the product)

We have an issue with a client when creating a pick for a warehouse shipment - in some instances there are blank bins for particular pick lines even though there is more than enough free stock to cover the pick across many bins. I narrowed the issue down to two things:

The GetBinType function in Create Pick CU (7312)
GetBinType(BinTypeCode : Code[10])
IF BinTypeCode = '' THEN
  BinType.INIT
ELSE
  IF BinType.Code <> BinTypeCode THEN
    BinType.GET(BinTypeCode);

And the fact that they have some blank "Bin Type" codes in their "Bin Contents" table. Now I know that the blank bin type codes should not be there (it may have been imported data or a manual deletion of the bin type code) and upon rectifying this the pick happens correctly, but I couldn't help but wonder about the code above.

The sequence of events that causes the issue is:

1. The bin checking routine gets the bin type setup for a particular bin, say "PUTPICK"
2. The bin checking routine tries to get the bin type setup for a blank bin type code (which does a BinType.INIT)
3. The bin checking routine gets the bin type setup for the same bin code before the blank one "PUTPICK"
4. Because of the optimisation to skip getting the bin type setup again, the INITed record is used instead of the actual values, so you end up with "PUTPICK", "No", "No", "No", "No" (no for all bin operations)
5. Because we have a INITed record and all operations are "No" the system decides the bin is useless for a pick even though it should be pickable and contains loads of stock.

I can see this being an issue with other operations that use this routine too

This sounds like a bug to me - surely the INIT should be a RESET instead?