Options

Are there plans for NAV dev to move to .NET and VS?

CharlehCharleh Member Posts: 44
edited 2013-11-13 in NAV Three Tier
Forgive me if this has been asked before or if the info is out there somewhere, but I'm having a hard time finding it.

I'm a long time .NET developer and I've been working with NAV for a while now - since implementing 2013 at several clients, I'm wondering what Microsoft's plans are for the development environment and the classic NAV code that most NAV devs are familiar with. Are MS moving the whole lot to .NET and MS tech (the same way they have done with the back end, middle tier and now the end user client)?

We have a graduate at my place of work, and the company are looking to train him and move him into the NAV world of dev/consultancy and I'm wondering whether it would be worth him getting a handle on .NET tech. Obviously having a foundation level of knowledge would help as the new stuff is written on top of WPF/WCF and all that goodness, but does he need to look into learning the .NET framework or are we always going to have classic C/AL?
Charleh

Comments

• Options
    ppavukppavuk Member Posts: 334
    I hope that this never happens :) I believe most of NAV developers love c/side and don't want it to be replaced with VS :) But, who knows what MS guys will do though ...
  • Options
    genericgeneric Member Posts: 511
    You mean this?

file.php?id=2142
  • Options
    Alex_ChowAlex_Chow Member Posts: 5,063
    Some Microsoft dev executive told me C/Side is not going away. We'll see how long that last.
  • Options
    Rob_HansenRob_Hansen Member Posts: 296