Options

Master - Detail relationship without composite keys

a_developera_developer Member Posts: 20
Hi I am new in Navision and I would like to implement the master-detail relational model without having composite keys. To be more specific

In a relational DB a master detail relation example:
Table[Person]
Person_ID (PK)
Person_name
Person_surname

Table[Lockers]
Locker_ID (PK)
Locker_Name
Person_ID

I want to make a form that displays Person and has a subform that displays the Lockers of that person. So far I have found two ways:

1. make a subform with subformlink (Person_ID=FIELD(Person_ID)) but then I have to create a compound key (Locker_ID, Person_ID). This is something I do not want (because I will have to create two fields in every other table that links to Lockers).

2. I can notify the subform (by calling one of its methods) when a new Record is created OR when record navigation happens but I have to write too much trigger code which is a pain.

Do you have a work around?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    If you want all lockers for the person you must use subformlink (Person_ID=FIELD(Person_ID)) - because Person_ID is the connection between the two tables... ;-)
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Options
    You are right sorry (error in the example). But the problem remains
  • Options
    I do not understand you- where is problem? You do not need to extend your primary key - the tables as you defined are ok and sufficient for you... (you only add secondary key for Person_ID for faster access)
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Options
    It works for viewing. If I try to insert a new Locker then it will be inserted in the Locker table with LockerID of 0 (and of course the line disapears from the subform).
  • Options
    See property PopulateAllFields on the Subform form...
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG