Options

Integrating Another Application into a Part for the RTC

matttraxmatttrax Member Posts: 2,309
edited 2009-03-13 in NAV Three Tier
It's easy to expose NAV data using a web service to other applications.

What I want to do is show data from another application in a NAV part via the RTC. As I'm still learning all of the new technology I'm wondering what the best way to go about it would be.

Am I still forced to create a NAV table, suck data in, and display it? Or is there a way to do something similar to a System part like with Outlook. Just curious as to what other people have done.

Comments

• Options
    TronholmTronholm Member Posts: 22
    I would also like to see such a feature (in SP1??).
    My company develops a Hotel Add-on which needs to display graphical data which is not possible to do inside RTC. We have written an external application that pulls data via web services and is launched from a NAV page, but it would be much nicer to have it inside the RTC window.
  • Options
    ara3nara3n Member Posts: 9,255
    :-#
    Ahmed Rashed Amini
    Independent Consultant/Developer

blog: https://dynamicsuser.net/nav/b/ara3n
  • Options
    Yeah, it seems like NAV can be integrated with other applications but it is just as difficult, if not harder, to integrate other applications with NAV. :-k
  • Options
    kinekine Member Posts: 12,562
    I will bee second :-#
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • Options
    freddy.dkfreddy.dk Member, Microsoft Employee Posts: 360
    I don't think there is any doubt that this is the directíon in which we are heading.
    The new RTC makes this possible in a very "Plug and Play" managed way and we will see that in the future.

I cannot promise any dates - but I can say that pieces of this was shown on the customer general session @ Convergence US this week.
    Freddy Kristiansen
    Group Program Manager, Client
    Microsoft Dynamics NAV
    http://blogs.msdn.com/freddyk