Options

MCT...Should I even bother?

matttraxmatttrax Member Posts: 2,309
I finished my certifications for becoming a Certified Professional in Development (yay!) and I was looking at becoming an MCT because I have a lot of experience tutoring and teaching. I'm just wondering if these requirements are for real?

$400 annual renewal fee because I work for an end user and not a partner
10 days required teaching per year
20 days required training attendance per year

This just seems excessive. I do most of my training by reading books that cost $50 instead of going to classes that cost $1500 and more. Is anyone out there currently an MCT? What do you think about it? Is there another program out there that you feel is just as good?

Thanks for your thoughts.

Comments

• Options
    DenSterDenSter Member Posts: 8,304
    You're only allowed to teach certification programs if you're an MCT. They made the threshold so high, because it is meant to be a serious commitment. If you are seriously considering certification training to be a part of your business then it might be worth it, certification trainers are hard to find. The MCT package comes loaded with beta product, so you'll have a LOT of resources at your disposal.

I would say if you want to be a trainer that can officially train people for MS certifications go for it. If it's not going to be a serious part of your business I wouldn't bother with it.
  • Options
    Yeah, I want to be able to do training for people. But even working for a partner I can't see them giving you four weeks a year, every year, for training. I work for a pretty good end user company that send people to training all the time, but 20 days worth, plus expenses, it's just a lot of money.

My current training background is probably enough, but I just thought it would be a good addition to my resume and skill set. Thanks for the input.
  • Options
    Alex_ChowAlex_Chow Member Posts: 5,063
    matttrax wrote: