Options

Automation Server

hedegaardhedegaard Member Posts: 25
Hello,
I am an experienced Navision programmer whereas my"normal windows" programming experience is lacking.

I am trying to register a dll. There is however an error saying the dll is "not a Com assembly". I do not understand this.

What will I need to do? A wrapper? How?
How can I tell if it is a valid Automation Server component?

thank you
Anders Hedegaard

Comments

• Options
    Soft_TodSoft_Tod Member Posts: 43
    Hi Anders.

There are DLLs (Dynamic Link Library) that you can register (Automations - COM/OLE) and those you can't. Nowadays one try to pogram DLLs with a defined interface and using Visual tools such as Visual Basic always produce a COM-Object.

What you need to do is (as you said) build a wrapper that link and make the functionality of the DLL public. You can build this wrapper in any programming language you want (except C/SIDE :?), and you can decide if you want the wrapper to be an OCX, COM-DLL (Automation) or perhaps EXE. Any of these three program types can easily be implemented in Navision.

Well, how can you tell if its a valid Automation object. Unfortunately its not written on it, but in it. I'd say that any DLL that can be registered is a valid object, can't really think of another way.

Regards
    ...Tord
    It is impossible to make anything foolproof, because fools are so ingenious.
  • Options
    Hi Tod (i guess),

thank you very much.

If the dll I am trying to use does not register with RegSvr32 how do I reference this dll in the wrapper I am programming in e.g. Visual Studio .Net ?

best regards
    Anders Hedegaard
  • Options
    janpieterjanpieter Member Posts: 298
    I mostly program in VB6 that automatically creates a COM component, but i believe .NET has a property that sais something like:

"Expose project to COM".