Options

How to fix a discrepancy between Item Ledger and G/L

Hi everybody,

I'm working at an end user, but I am a developer and am curious to hear your feedback -- how should we fix this? I have asked my local partner, but wanted to get other ideas to compare to what they will say (haven't heard back from them).

We got an issue with a large discrepancy between our Item Ledger and the G/L because they’ve not been intentionally using the Item Ledger – using G/L journals directly, for instance – but the sales are coming out of inventory, along with purchases.

Here’s the deal:

1. They have not really been using the Item Ledger, and not running the Post Inventory Cost to G/L, etc.
2. All “inventory adjustments” have been made at the G/L journal level, so, the G/L is correct, but the item ledger is all screwy.
3. I ran a phys. inventory journal in a TEST database, and some of the accounts were out of balance by $11M
4. Is it possible to balance the Item Ledger and the G/L without impacting the G/L? Like, maybe disabling the code that posts to the G/L? I really don’t know how to get this done. Is there a better alternative?
5. We are trying to go live with invoicing out of NAV (at present we’re invoicing from another application), but need to have this resolved before we do.
6. We are going live with a new donor management system in November, and would like to go live with invoicing out of NAV no later than October.
7. At present, invoices are done in an in-house system (in old FoxPro, text interface), and then they get imported into NAV to update the G/L – inventory ledger is ignored.
8. We developed some XMLports to import files coming from the old system, and the new donor management system, to create Sales Orders in NAV (and to automatically post/ship them) – this is the core of our invoicing system.
9. Said sales orders are then posted manually.