How to install and configure Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 R2

ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member
edited 2013-01-25 in NAV Three Tier
Hi,

I have finsql.exe and SQL Server 2008 R2. (Don't know how to check weather NAS installed or not, can someone help me out here)
I mainly want to run RTC. For that when I'm opening RTC I'm getting this error:

Program could not connect to the server. Do you want to try again?

some one can provide me steps to install and configure

thanks
Chowdary
Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
«13

Comments

  • mohana_cse06mohana_cse06 Posts: 4,905Member
    If you want to run RTC, nothing to do with NAS..will discuss that later..

    First, what did you install ans how?
    Is it a single system or server-client connectivity?

    Did you install nav service? is that running?

    Did you modify custom settings file with correct server name and database name?
  • ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member
    Hi Mohana

    Actually my question is for my personal laptop to work with RTC.

    But for now, am having problem at work.
    It was installed by my colleague and she told how she did, as follows:
    First, what did you install ans how?
    First installed client and then service and then service tier
    Is it a single system or server-client connectivity?
    its server-client connectivity
    Did you install nav service? is that running?
    yes, installed but not running, this is the main issue now
    Did you modify custom settings file with correct server name and database name?
    yes, modified with correct server and database

    The issue with Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server is, its not starting

    giving this error:
    The Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server service on local computer started and then stopped. Some services stop automatically if they are not in use by other services pr programs

    thanks
    Chowdary
    Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
  • mohana_cse06mohana_cse06 Posts: 4,905Member
    Chowdary wrote:
    giving this error:
    The Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server service on local computer started and then stopped. Some services stop automatically if they are not in use by other services pr programs

    Search the forum with above error..you will get lot of discussion like
    http://www.mibuso.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=38900
  • kinekine Posts: 12,553Member
    If you want to know why it is stopping, look into Event Log. This is basic step you need to do each time you have problems with something... There will be info what is wrong...
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member
    kine wrote:
    If you want to know why it is stopping, look into Event Log. This is basic step you need to do each time you have problems with something... There will be info what is wrong...

    Hi Kine

    Plz see Event Viewer for the error below:
    Log Name: Security
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Security-Auditing
    Date: 10/13/2011 1:57:20 PM
    Event ID: 4672
    Task Category: Special Logon
    Level: Information
    Keywords: Audit Success
    User: N/A
    Computer: NAVSERV2
    Description: Special privileges assigned to new logon.
    Subject:
    Security ID: NAVSERV2\Administrator
    Account Name: Administrator
    Account Domain: NAVSERV2
    Logon ID: 0xa0017f2
    Privileges: SeSecurityPrivilege
    SeTakeOwnershipPrivilege
    SeLoadDriverPrivilege
    SeBackupPrivilege
    SeRestorePrivilege
    SeDebugPrivilege
    SeSystemEnvironmentPrivilege
    SeImpersonatePrivilege


    - System
    - Provider
    [ Name] Microsoft-Windows-Security-Auditing
    [ Guid] {54849625-5478-4994-a5ba-3e3b0328c30d}

    EventID 4672
    Version 0
    Level 0
    Task 12548
    Opcode 0
    Keywords 0x8020000000000000
    - TimeCreated
    [ SystemTime] 2011-10-13T09:57:20.098Z
    EventRecordID 3074
    Correlation
    - Execution
    [ ProcessID] 624
    [ ThreadID] 2032
    Channel Security
    Computer NAVSERV2
    Security
    - EventData
    SubjectUserSid S-1-5-21-1868156668-3483688429-259026737-500
    SubjectUserName Administrator
    SubjectDomainName NAVSERV2
    SubjectLogonId 0xa0017f2
    PrivilegeList SeSecurityPrivilege SeTakeOwnershipPrivilege
    SeLoadDriverPrivilege SeBackupPrivilege SeRestorePrivilege SeDebugPrivilege SeSystemEnvironmentPrivilege SeImpersonatePrivilege

    plz tell me whtz wrong?

    Thanks
    Chowdary
    Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
  • mohana_cse06mohana_cse06 Posts: 4,905Member
    Did you set windows authentication in navision?

    RTC works only with Windows authentication..
  • ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member
    Did you set windows authentication in navision?

    RTC works only with Windows authentication..

    :shock: I was trying to start Micarosoft Dynamics NAV Server, but didn't check navision

    now when I'm trying to start(finsql.exe) with windows authentication am getting this error:

    The extended stored procedure xp_ndo_enumusergroups in the library file xp_ndo.dll is not available on the database server navserv2\sqlexpress

    is this the reason am getting service started and then stopped error?

    Thanks
    Chowdary
    Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
  • julkifli33julkifli33 Posts: 937Member
    check your service, whether already started or not
  • ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member
    julkifli33 wrote:
    check your service, whether already started or not

    No, my NAV server is not starting, giving the same error:

    The Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server service on local computer started and then stopped. Some services stop automatically if they are not in use by other services pr programs

    Thanks
    Chowdary
    Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
  • julkifli33julkifli33 Posts: 937Member
    Chowdary wrote:
    julkifli33 wrote:
    check your service, whether already started or not

    No, my NAV server is not starting, giving the same error:

    The Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server service on local computer started and then stopped. Some services stop automatically if they are not in use by other services pr programs

    Thanks
    Chowdary

    change the log on of your service
  • ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member

    Hi Mohana

    I ran this and it was successful

    USE master
    EXEC sp_addextendedproc xp_ndo_enumusersids,'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\60\xp_ndo.dll'
    GO

    GRANT EXECUTE
    ON [xp_ndo_enumusersids]
    TO PUBLIC
    GO

    USE master
    EXEC sp_addextendedproc xp_ndo_enumusergroups,'C:\Program Files(x86)\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\60\xp_ndo.dll'
    GO

    GRANT EXECUTE
    ON [xp_ndo_enumusergroups]
    TO PUBLIC
    GO

    but I couldn't see them in the list of Stored Procedures

    and as well when I'm trying to open navision windows authentication am getting attached error

    what I did for stored procedure was right?

    Thanks
    Chowdary
    Windows Auth Error.bmp
    283K
    Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
  • mohana_cse06mohana_cse06 Posts: 4,905Member
    Better you copy the dll file to
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Binn\

    and try
  • julkifli33julkifli33 Posts: 937Member
    Better you copy the dll file to
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Binn\

    and try

    execute the extended stored procedure in your SQL server
  • ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member
    Better you copy the dll file to
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Binn\

    and try

    I've copied to that folder both dll files and tried same error.
    where can I find dlls that I excited in SQL Management studio
    SQL Server -> Databases -> System Databases -> Master -> Programmability -> Stored Procedures -> [Stored Procedures]
    I didn't see them in this path.
    As you said I copied dlls to binn folder and tried to execute :
    USE master
    EXEC sp_addextendedproc xp_ndo_enumusersids,'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10_50.SQLEXPRESS\MSSQL\Binn\xp_ndo.dll'
    GO

    GRANT EXECUTE
    ON [xp_ndo_enumusersids]
    TO PUBLIC
    GO

    USE master
    EXEC sp_addextendedproc xp_ndo_enumusergroups,'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10_50.SQLEXPRESS\MSSQL\Binn\xp_ndo.dll'
    GO

    GRANT EXECUTE
    ON [xp_ndo_enumusergroups]
    TO PUBLIC
    GO

    then I'm getting these errors in SQL Qury write:
    Msg 2714, Level 16, State 7, Procedure sp_addextendedproc, Line 29
    There is already an object named 'xp_ndo_enumusersids' in the database.
    Msg 2714, Level 16, State 7, Procedure sp_addextendedproc, Line 29
    There is already an object named 'xp_ndo_enumusergroups' in the database.

    Plz help me out ](*,)

    Thanks
    Chowdary
    Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
  • mohana_cse06mohana_cse06 Posts: 4,905Member
    You will find under
    SQL Server -> Databases -> System Databases -> Master -> Programmability ->Extended Stored Procedure..
  • ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member
    You will find under
    SQL Server -> Databases -> System Databases -> Master -> Programmability ->Extended Stored Procedure..

    Great =D>
    I have been able to login to Navision(finsql.exe) windows authentication
    but still NAV Server giving the same error, I hv refreshed also

    what should I do now?

    Thanks
    Chowdary
    Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
  • julkifli33julkifli33 Posts: 937Member
    Chowdary wrote:
    Better you copy the dll file to
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Binn\

    and try

    I've copied to that folder both dll files and tried same error.
    where can I find dlls that I excited in SQL Management studio
    SQL Server -> Databases -> System Databases -> Master -> Programmability -> Stored Procedures -> [Stored Procedures]
    I didn't see them in this path.
    As you said I copied dlls to binn folder and tried to execute :
    USE master
    EXEC sp_addextendedproc xp_ndo_enumusersids,'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10_50.SQLEXPRESS\MSSQL\Binn\xp_ndo.dll'
    GO

    GRANT EXECUTE
    ON [xp_ndo_enumusersids]
    TO PUBLIC
    GO

    USE master
    EXEC sp_addextendedproc xp_ndo_enumusergroups,'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10_50.SQLEXPRESS\MSSQL\Binn\xp_ndo.dll'
    GO

    GRANT EXECUTE
    ON [xp_ndo_enumusergroups]
    TO PUBLIC
    GO

    then I'm getting these errors in SQL Qury write:
    Msg 2714, Level 16, State 7, Procedure sp_addextendedproc, Line 29
    There is already an object named 'xp_ndo_enumusersids' in the database.
    Msg 2714, Level 16, State 7, Procedure sp_addextendedproc, Line 29
    There is already an object named 'xp_ndo_enumusergroups' in the database.

    Plz help me out ](*,)

    Thanks
    Chowdary

    the easiest way is....
    detach your database first
    and then uninstall your NAV
    install demo ... attach your database
    run it...
  • kinekine Posts: 12,553Member
    Chowdary wrote:
    You will find under
    SQL Server -> Databases -> System Databases -> Master -> Programmability ->Extended Stored Procedure..

    Great =D>
    I have been able to login to Navision(finsql.exe) windows authentication
    but still NAV Server giving the same error, I hv refreshed also

    what should I do now?

    Thanks
    Chowdary

    By NAV Server you mean Mid-tier (service tier) for NAV 2009? Or what? You have posted into classic client forum, thus I am asking...
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member
    kine wrote:
    Chowdary wrote:
    You will find under
    SQL Server -> Databases -> System Databases -> Master -> Programmability ->Extended Stored Procedure..

    Great =D>
    I have been able to login to Navision(finsql.exe) windows authentication
    but still NAV Server giving the same error, I hv refreshed also

    what should I do now?

    Thanks
    Chowdary

    By NAV Server you mean Mid-tier (service tier) for NAV 2009? Or what? You have posted into classic client forum, thus I am asking...

    its Mid-tier (service tier) for NAV 2009
    its here by mistake, should move it to NAV three tier

    Thanks
    Chowdary
    Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
  • kinekine Posts: 12,553Member
    THan it is much more complicated. You need to set SPNs correctly if the service tier is running on different server than SQL etc... have you read the documentation?
    Kamil Sacek
    MVP - Dynamics NAV
    My BLOG
    NAVERTICA a.s.
  • ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member
    kine wrote:
    THan it is much more complicated. You need to set SPNs correctly if the service tier is running on different server than SQL etc... have you read the documentation?

    Hi Kine

    Yes, I know that, but my NAV Server(middle tier) and SQL Server(Database tier) both on same computer running windows server 2008.

    any more suggestions?

    Thanks
    Chowdary
    Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
  • ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member
    check your connection with best practice analyser
    http://dynamicsuser.net/media/p/192857.aspx

    Hi Mohana

    It may be silly question, I have to ask

    its Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 R2 but not Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 SP1
    I was checking for R2 best practice. Am I right here? If yes, can you sen me the link plz(if u have)

    Thanks
    Chowdary
    Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
  • mohana_cse06mohana_cse06 Posts: 4,905Member
    Chowdary wrote:
    I was checking for R2 best practice. Am I right here? If yes, can you sen me the link plz(if u have)
    How many times i should request you to search the forum?
    http://www.mibuso.com/dlinfo.asp?FileID=1155
  • ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member
    Chowdary wrote:
    I was checking for R2 best practice. Am I right here? If yes, can you sen me the link plz(if u have)
    How many times i should request you to search the forum?
    http://www.mibuso.com/dlinfo.asp?FileID=1155

    So thankful for your response
    I wouldn't have come till here with out your help
    Hope I will be thru by this analyzer

    Thanks
    Chowdary
    Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
  • ChowdaryChowdary Posts: 176Member
    Hi

    I found this error when I scan Best Practice Analyzer:

    The Best Practices Analyzer for Microsoft Dynamics NAV could not read the Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server configuration file (CustomSettings.config). This could be because the file is corrupted, missing, or misnamed. Check also 'Other Reports', for detailed descriptions. Filename = 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\60\Service\CustomSettings.config' .

    what should I do ?

    Thanks
    Chowdary
    Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work
  • mohana_cse06mohana_cse06 Posts: 4,905Member
    Chowdary wrote:
    Hi

    I found this error when I scan Best Practice Analyzer:

    The Best Practices Analyzer for Microsoft Dynamics NAV could not read the Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server configuration file (CustomSettings.config). This could be because the file is corrupted, missing, or misnamed. Check also 'Other Reports', for detailed descriptions. Filename = 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\60\Service\CustomSettings.config' .

    what should I do ?

    Thanks
    Chowdary

    it clearly mentioned that your file is corrupted, missing, or misnamed..

    make sure that name is same in path C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\60\Service\CustomSettings.config

    check the < and > inside the file..
  • krikikriki Posts: 7,917Member, Moderator
    [Topic moved from 'NAV/Navision Classic Client' forum to 'NAV Three Tier' forum]
    Regards,Alain Krikilion
    Use the SEARCH,Luke! || No PM,please use the forum. || May the <SOLVED>-attribute be in your title! || Read Forum Rules before making a posting

«13
Sign In or Register to comment.