Options

How to make a field mandatory...newbie question

powerbouwerpowerbouwer Member Posts: 3
edited 2003-04-07 in Navision Attain
Hi,

I'm quite new with Navision so please don't shoot me :-)

I want a field in a table to be mandatory (let's say 'Email Adress'). Also when creating a new record in that table through a form and the user forgets to fill in the 'Email Address' and wants to enter another new record or closes the form I want to inform the user that the Email Address should be filled in, but without (this is very important!) losing all the other entries in the new records!

So, to summarize this : what's the best solution to be sure a field is filled in a record and what trigger(s) do I need to code and where (Table/Form) ???

Thank you very much!

Wim Teuwens

Comments

• Options
    navnavnavnav Member Posts: 16
    Try out the NotBlank property for a field in a table.
    Try using TESTFIELD in code.
  • Options
    SbhatSbhat Member Posts: 301
    Hi,

As such there is no way make a field mandatory in Navision. Yes, you could put some code in onclose trigger of a form but that would give you hell a lot of problem. The only way to check for mandatory value in a field is while posting. Whenever you post check for the value in the table and flag a error message.

Thanks

Best regards
    Suresh
    email : sbhatbng@hotmail.com
  • Options
    navnavnavnav Member Posts: 16
    Also check the delayedinsert property.
  • Options
    Theunis_ModdermanTheunis_Modderman Member Posts: 9
    In the end, it will appear that it is not possible to make a field mandatory. For example: The OnClose trigger is not activated if yoy scroll the records, but only if you close the form. So also this is not a proper solution.

In most cases however the customer needs only few fields to be absuolutely mandatory. If that is the case, we use the following solution: